I honestly don’t know what to say to this, mostly because the idea that anybody could pity me for the thing that I consider my greatest blessing in life- my family- is kind of difficult to get my head around.

I know a number of people with whom I diverge ideologically, and of all the things that I find “disturbing” about them, the fact that they have families that they love and are close to is not one. If anything, the love and value of family is a deeply rooted human instinct that one would think that most of us could agree upon and appreciate in one another. The fact that someone of my allegedly “evil” ideology understands this, while others (whose views I presume are more consistent with the mainstream than mine) cannot ought really tell people something about the true state of our society.

